New Pioneers Awards: Nomination deadline Friday, September 24

Do you know an outstanding new Canadian who has made a contribution to the arts, community service, entrepreneurship, or science and technology? If so, now is the time to nominate them for the 19th Annual New Pioneers Awards.

As a MaRS advisor, I had the honor of hosting discussions at the Citizenship Ceremony held at MaRS in partnership for the Institute for Citizenship. I was moved and inspired by the stories and perspectives of new Canadians, and struck by the importance of welcoming and celebrating the people who chose Canada as their home. The Annual New Pioneers Awards, held by Skills for Change, is a noteworthy event that recognizes and showcases the accomplishments of outstanding individuals who have immigrated to Canada.
New Pioneers Award recipients are a testament to the power of the indomitable human spirit that has moved so many newcomers forward in the face of overwhelming personal and professional adversity. As the GTA’s landmark cultural community celebration, The Annual New Pioneers Awards ceremony is often referred to as the “Oscars of Diversity”.  The event is community-led: worthy candidates are nominated by members of the public, a volunteer team conducts the selection process and corporations and community leaders within the GTA gather for this important annual gala.

Nominees should demonstrate a real and substantial connection to the GTA and be an outstanding achiever. Nominations can be made until Friday (September 24).  Register or nominate someone today by clicking here.

In June 2008, the New Pioneers Awards team was awarded the prestigious Newcomer Champion Awards by the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration. The award is a tribute to individuals and groups who have contributed to the understanding and sharing of Ontario’s cultural diversity.  It demonstrates the success and public value the New Pioneers Awards bring to the lives of newcomers.

Watch the video:
Jane Cullingworth, Kim Hua, Sam Ghazouli and Alexjandro Jadad reflect on the New Pioneers Awards and Pioneers for Change.