Premier McGuinty announces research and innovation award winners

Premier’s awards celebates Ontario’s outstanding talent

Toronto, April 24, 2007 — Premier and Minister of Research and Innovation Dalton McGuinty honoured Ontario’s top research and innovation talents today at the inaugural Premier’s Innovation Awards ceremony held at the MaRS Discovery District.

“Progress is made through people who have the vision to see beyond the status quo,” said Premier McGuinty. “By imagining new possibilities, taking new risks and finding a better way, these winners have made great achievements that will ultimately change the world for the better. I am proud to support and celebrate their extraordinary accomplishments.”

Winners in the Premier’s Catalyst, Discovery and Summit awards programs were recognized for their achievements in everything from life-saving medical research to innovations that are revolutionizing business and industry.

Winners of the Premier’s Catalyst Awards for excellence in innovation are:

  • Best Young Innovator: Parham Aarabi, Toronto
  • Innovator of the Year: En-Hiu Yang, Waterloo
  • Lifetime Achievement in Innovation: Savvas Chamberlain, Waterloo
  • Start-up Company with the Best Innovation: Tessonics Inc., Windsor
  • Company with the Best Innovation: Research In Motion, Waterloo.

Winners of the Premier’s Discovery Awards for individual research achievement are:

  • Life Sciences and Medicine: Spencer C.H. Barrett, University of Toronto
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering: Andreas Mandelis, University of Toronto
  • Social Sciences and Humanities: Regna Darnell, The University of Western Ontario
  • Innovation Leadership: Aaron Fenster, Robarts Research Institute.

The Premier’s Summit Awards program provides extraordinary research support to a small number of outstanding medical researchers, in partnership with their sponsoring institution. The winners for 2007 are:

  • John E. Dick, University Health Network
  • Tak Mak, Princess Margaret Hospital, University Health Network
  • Anthony J. Pawson, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Peter St George-Hyslop, University of Toronto and University Health Network

“MaRS is particularly honoured to be involved with the Premier’s Summit Awards for Medical Research,” said MaRS CEO Dr. Ilse Treurnicht, “This unprecedented new investment in the work of our truly exceptional scientists will make a difference in the health of Canadians and others around the world. We are all proud that these remarkable scientists live and work in Ontario.”

“These award programs are a key part of Ontario’s strategy to attract and retain our best and brightest and build on our culture of innovation and entrepreneurship,” said Premier McGuinty. “By supporting world-class talent here at home, we’re ensuring Ontario remains the place to be for years to come.”

For more information on the Premier’s Innovation Awards:

Premier’s Media Office

About MaRS
MaRS Discovery District ( is a large scale, mission driven innovation centre located in Toronto and networked across Ontario, focused on building Canada’s next generation of technology companies. MaRS works closely with entrepreneurs to grow and scale their ventures into global market leaders in life sciences and health care, information, communications and digital media technologies, cleantech, advanced materials and engineering, as well as innovative social purpose business.

For more information, contact:
Linda Quattrin
Director Communications
MaRS Discovery District

Ross Wallace